ⓘ Category:Municipalities

Municipalities of Argentina

A municipality is one form of a country subdivision of Argentina. It is a city, town, or township, which is – below the department level – part of a province different from Buenos Aires Province. The provinces organize the municipalities in their territories according to their own municipal regime

Chapter 9, Title 11, United States Code

Chapter 9, Title 11, United States Code is a chapter of the United States Bankruptcy Code, available exclusively to municipalities and assisting them in the restructuring of their debt. On July 18, 2013, Detroit, Michigan became the largest city in the history of the United States to file for Chapter 9 Bankruptcy protection. Jefferson County, Alabama, in 2011, and Orange County, California, in 1994, are also notable examples. "The term municipality denotes a political subdivision or public agency or instrumentality of a State," but does not include a state itself.

Direct-controlled municipality

A direct-controlled municipality is the highest level classification for cities used by unitary states, with status equal to that of the provinces in the respective countries. A direct-controlled municipality is similar to, but not the same as, a federal district, a common designation in various countries for a municipality that is not part of any state, and which usually hosts some governmental functions. Usually direct-controlled municipality are under central government control with limited power. Many countries have adopted this system with some different variations. Geographically and ...

Rural gmina

The gmina is the principal unit of the administrative division of Poland, similar to a municipality. As of January 1, 2019, there were 2477 communes throughout the country, encompassing 940 cities and over 43.000 villages. The gmina has been the basic unit of territorial division in Poland since 1974, when it replaced the smaller gromada cluster. There are three types of gminy: 638 mixed urban-rural gmina Polish: gmina miejsko-wiejska consisting of a town and surrounding villages and countryside; and 1537 rural gmina Polish: gmina wiejska consisting only of villages and countryside occasio ...

Incorporated town

In all six New England states, towns are the main units of local government. Towns cover most or all land area in all six states, including rural areas. New England towns are notable for their town meeting form of government.

Municipal council

Established as the Sanitary Board in 1883, the Municipal Council in Hong Kong Island and Kowloon including the New Kowloon provided municipal services to the covered regions in the then British Hong Kong. Partial elections were allowed in 1887, though merely enabling selected persons to vote for members of the Board. The Board was reconstituted in 1935 and hence renamed as Urban Council in the following year after the government had passed the Urban Council Ordinance. Democratisation had been implemented, allowing universal suffrage to happen throughout its development. Two years after the ...