ⓘ South Western Ambulance Service


ⓘ South Western Ambulance Service

The South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust is the organisation responsible for providing ambulance services for the National Health Service across South West England. On 1 March 2011, SWASFT was the first ambulance service in the country to become a NHS foundation trust. On 1 February 2013, neighbouring Great Western Ambulance Service merged with the trust.

SWASFT serves a population of more than 5.47 million, and its area was estimated to receive annual influx of more than 17.5 million visitors. The operating area is predominantly rural and major urban centres including Bristol, Plymouth, Exeter, Truro, bath, Oxford, Gloucester, Bournemouth and Poole.

Service with headquarters in Exeter, Devon. It has a 96 ambulance stations and six bases driven charity air ambulance in the area. Executive Director Ken Wenman, who was appointed when the Fund was established on 1 July 2006, previously served as the former chief Executive of the ambulance service in Dorset.

The trusts main operations include:

  • Emergency ambulance 999 services.
  • Tiverton Urgent Care Centre.
  • NHS 111 call-handling and triage services Dorset.
  • Urgent Care Services UCS – GP out-of-hours medical care Dorset.

This is one of the ambulance trusts providing England with emergency medical assistance and employs about 4.500, mainly clinical and operational staff. In addition, there are around 3.200 volunteers, including community first aid, basics doctors, firefighters with rescue services and drivers to transport the patient.

  • South Central Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust SCAS is the ambulance service for the counties of Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Hampshire
  • The Great Western Ambulance Service NHS Trust GWAS was a National Health Service NHS trust which provided emergency and non - emergency patient transport
  • New South Wales Ambulance an agency of NSW Health, is the statutory provider of pre - hospital emergency care and ambulance services in the state of New
  • The Scottish Ambulance Service Scottish Gaelic: Seirbheis Charbadan - eiridinn na h - Alba is part of NHS Scotland, which serves all of Scotland s population
  • Yorkshire Metropolitan Ambulance Service WYMAS South Yorkshire Ambulance Service SYAS and Tees, East and North Yorkshire Ambulance Service TENYAS It is
  • emergency Air Ambulance service The trust provides air ambulance cover for the entire county, in association with the South Western Ambulance Service who provide
  • South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust West Midlands Ambulance Service University NHS Foundation Trust Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust
  • full - time engineer at the base. The paramedics are employed by South Western Ambulance Service SWASFT while critical care doctors are seconded from local
  • Ambulance Service and South Central Ambulance Service The National Ambulance Resilience Unit, which provides support to all the English ambulance trusts
  • 6280 W 51.4400 - 2.6280 The Great Western Air Ambulance Charity GWAAC is a charity air ambulance service in South West England. It operates for the
  • division of the St John Ambulance Brigade now known as St John Ambulance Event Health Services was established in Glebe, New South Wales in 1903. A division
  • Emergency medical services EMS also known as ambulance services or paramedic services are emergency services which treat illnesses and injuries that
  • National Health Service Ambulance Services provide free at the point of use emergency medical care to any person requiring treatment, regardless of immigration