ⓘ AEW Women's World Championship


ⓘ AEW Womens World Championship

The AEW Womens World Championship is a womens professional wrestling world championship created and promoted by the American promotion All Elite Wrestling. It was officially announced on June 18, 2019. The current champion is Nyla Rose, who is in her first reign.


1. History

On January 1, 2019, the professional wrestling promotion All Elite Wrestling AEW was founded. It was not until June, however, that AEW President and CEO Tony Khan announced future plans for both a womens championship and a womens tag team championship. It was then announced by AEW Chief Brand Officer Brandi Rhodes that the AEW Womens World Championship belt would be unveiled on August 31 at All Out, and that the inaugural champion would be crowned on October 2 during the inaugural broadcast of AEWs weekly television show, later revealed as Dynamite. Both participants for the inaugural championship match were determined at All Out. The first competitor was determined by the womens Casino Battle Royale during the Buy In pre-show, which was won by Nyla Rose. Later that night on the main show, Riho became her opponent by defeating Hikaru Shida. On the premiere episode of Dynamite, Riho defeated Rose to become the inaugural champion.


2. Reigns

As of April 8, 2020, there have been two reigns. The current champion is Nyla Rose, who defeated previous and inaugural champion Riho during the February 12, 2020 episode of Dynamite in Cedar Park, Texas.