ⓘ Central African Power Pool


ⓘ Central African Power Pool

The Pool Energetique De LAfrique Centrale, also Central African Power Pool, is an association of ten Central African countries. The major aim of the association is to interconnect the electricity grids of the member countries in order to facilitate the trading of electric power between the members. PEAC is one of the five regional power pools in Africa.


1. Location

The headquarters of CAPP are located on the 14th Floor of Nabemba Tower, in the city of Brazzaville, the capital and largest city in the Republic of the Congo. The geographical coordinates of CAPPs headquarters are 4°1619.0"S, 15°1722.0"E Latitude:-4.271944; Longitude:15.289444.


2. Overview

Member countries are Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, and São Tome and Principe. The energy compact was established in 2003 and focuses on developing electricity interconnections between member states.