ⓘ 68th Primetime Emmy Awards


ⓘ 68th Primetime Emmy Awards

The 68th Primetime Emmy Awards honored the best in U.S. prime time television programming from June 1, 2015 until May 31, 2016, as chosen by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The ceremony was held on Sunday, September 18, 2016 at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles, California, and was broadcast in the U.S. by ABC. The ceremony was hosted by Jimmy Kimmel. It was preceded by the 68th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which took place over two nights, September 10 and 11, at the Microsoft Theater.

The nominations were announced by Anthony Anderson and Lauren Graham on July 14, 2016. The crime anthology limited series The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story was the most nominated program at the ceremony with 13, and 22 overall, although Game of Thrones received the most overall nominations that year with 23 as the most nominated drama series.

With five awards, The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story won the most awards of the night, while the fantasy drama series Game of Thrones won three, including Outstanding Drama Series and surpassed Frasier 37 as the fictional television program with the most Primetime Emmy Awards with 38 wins in six seasons. The Game of Thrones win was also the second time a Sixth season of any show, had won the Outstanding Drama award, after fellow HBO show, The Sopranos Sixth season had won it, in 2007.

Additionally, the political satire series Veep won Outstanding Comedy Series for the second time in a row, while its producer and lead star Julia Louis-Dreyfus established a new record of wins for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series; it was her fifth consecutive win for the series and sixth overall in the category.

For the first time, none of the nominees for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series were from the four major American broadcasting TV networks. In addition, Ben Mendelsohn became the first actor to win Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for a series from a streaming service network; he won for Bloodline from Netflix.


1. Most major nominations

By network
  • Fox – 4
  • BBC America / Lifetime / USA – 3
  • HBO – 40
  • Netflix – 17
  • Comedy Central – 5
  • AMC – 9
  • Showtime – 8
  • Amazon / CBS / NBC / PBS – 6
  • ABC – 12
  • FX – 28
By program
  • The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story FX – 13
  • Fargo FX – 8
  • The Night Manager AMC / Silicon Valley HBO – 6
  • Veep HBO – 10
  • Game of Thrones HBO – 9

2. Most major awards

By network
  • FX / HBO – 6
  • Netflix – 3
  • Amazon / NBC / PBS – 2
By program
  • Transparent Amazon / Veep HBO – 2
  • Game of Thrones HBO – 3
  • The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story FX – 5

3. In Memoriam

Very early on in the show, Jeffrey Tambor paid tribute to Garry Shandling. Later, before introducing the segment, Henry Winkler paid tribute to producer, actor and director Garry Marshall. Singer-songwriter Tori Kelly sang "Hallelujah" as photos were shown of television industry personalities who had died in the past year.