ⓘ 41st Academy Awards


ⓘ 41st Academy Awards

The 41st Academy Awards were presented on April 14, 1969, at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles. It was the first Academy Awards ceremony to be staged at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion. For the first time since the 11th Academy Awards, there was no host.

Oliver! is the only winner of the Academy Award for Best Picture to receive a G-rating prior to winning the award several earlier Best Picture winners have received the same rating retroactively. By contrast, the following year would see the only X-rated film to win Best Picture, Midnight Cowboy. Oliver! would also be the last British film to win Best Picture until Chariots of Fire in 1982 and the last movie musical to win until Chicago in 2003.

The year was notable for the first - and so far, only - tie for Best Actress or any female acting category. Katharine Hepburn in The Lion in Winter and Barbra Streisand in Funny Girl shared the award. Hepburn also became the second actress and third performer overall to win an acting Oscar two years in a row, after Luise Rainer in 1936 The Great Ziegfeld and 1937 The Good Earth, and Spencer Tracy in 1937 Captains Courageous and 1938 Boys Town. The previous year, Hepburn had won Best Actress for Guess Whos Coming to Dinner.

As the special effects director and designer for 2001: A Space Odyssey, Stanley Kubrick was the recipient of the Academy Award for Best Visual Effects this year. It was the only Oscar he would ever win.

Cliff Robertsons performance in Charly was met with a generally mixed reception from critics and audiences. When he won the Academy Award for Best Actor, it engendered some controversy: less than two weeks after the ceremony, TIME mentioned the Academys generalized concerns over "excessive and vulgar solicitation of votes" and said "many members agreed that Robertsons award was based more on promotion than on performance."

At the ceremony, Young Americans was announced as the Documentary Feature winner. On May 7, 1969, the film was disqualified because it had played in October 1967, thus making it ineligible for a 1968 award. Journey into Self, the first runner-up, was awarded the Oscar on May 8, 1969.

Controversy was created on Oscar night when Johnny Carson and Buddy Hackett announced in a sketch on the evenings Tonight Show, which was recorded three hours before the awards ceremony, that Oliver! would be the winner for Best Picture and that Jack Albertson would win for Best Supporting Actor. Columnist Frances Drake claimed that most observers believed Carson and Hackett "were playing a huge practical joke or happened to make a lucky guess". As Carson recalled it on the air years later, it created a huge controversy and people at Price Waterhouse were fired. Referring to it as "The Great Carson Hoax", PricewaterhouseCoopers stated in a 2004 press release that it was "later proven that Carson and Hackett made a few lucky guesses for their routine, dispelling rumors of a security breach and keeping the integrity of the balloting process intact". The Academy later hired Carson five times to host the ceremony.


1.1. Winners Honorary Awards

  • Diahann Carroll presented Onna White her award for outstanding choreography achievement for Oliver!.
  • Walter Matthau presented John Chambers his award for outstanding makeup achievement for Planet of the Apes

1.2. Winners Presenters

  • Natalie Wood Presenter: Best Art Direction and the Scientific or Technical Awards
  • Ingrid Bergman Presenter: Best Actress and Best Cinematography
  • Jane Fonda Presenter: Best Foreign Language Film, Best Costume Design and Short Subjects Awards
  • Gregory Peck Presenter: Best Original Score for a Motion Picture Not a Musical)
  • Tony Curtis Presenter: Best Supporting Actress, Short Subjects Awards and Documentary Awards
  • Burt Lancaster Presenter: Best Actor, Best Special Visual Effects and the Scientific or Technical Awards
  • Pink Panther Presentation: Best Short Subject – Cartoons
  • Mark Lester Presenter: Honorary Academy Award to Onna White
  • Diahann Carroll Presenter: Best Special Visual Effects, Documentary Awards & the Honorary Award to Onna White
  • Don Rickles Presenter: Best Story and Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen
  • Sidney Poitier Presenter: Best Picture
  • Walter Matthau Presenter: Best Film Editing and Best Foreign Language Film
  • Henry Mancini and Marni Nixon Presenter: Best Original or Adaptation Score
  • Ingrid Bergman, Diahann Carroll, Jane Fonda, Rosalind Russell and Natalie Wood Presenters: Best Director
  • Rosalind Russell Presenter: Best Original Score for a Motion Picture Not a Musical, Best Sound and Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium Awards)
  • Bob Hope Presenter: Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Martha Raye
  • Frank Sinatra Presenter: Best Supporting Actor, Best Song Original for the Picture and Writing Awards

1.3. Winners Performers

  • Sidney Poitier, Ingrid Bergman, Paula Kelly, Burt Lancaster and the UCLA Band "Chitty Bang Bang" from Chitty Bang
  • Frank Sinatra "Star!" from Star!
  • Abbey Lincoln "For the Love of Ivy" from For Love of Ivy
  • Aretha Franklin "Funny Girl" from Funny Girl
  • Jose Feliciano "The Windmills of Your Mind" from The Thomas Crown Affair
  • from different countries, were submitted for the 41st Academy Awards in the category Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film. The titles highlighted
  • The 41st Cesar Awards ceremony, presented by the Academie des Arts et Techniques du Cinema, was held on 26 February 2016, at the Theatre du Chatelet in
  • 1968 Academy Awards may refer to: 40th Academy Awards the Academy Awards ceremony that took place in 1968 41st Academy Awards the 1969 ceremony honoring
  • 1969 Academy Awards may refer to: 41st Academy Awards the Academy Awards ceremony that took place in 1969 42nd Academy Awards the 1970 ceremony honoring
  • The 41st Japan Academy Film Prize 第 41 回日本アカデミー賞 is the 41st edition of the Japan Academy Film Prize, an award presented by the Nippon Academy - Sho Association
  • The 37th Academy Awards 1965 Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Retrieved 2015 - 03 - 23. The 41st Academy Awards 1969 Academy of Motion
  • Raspberry Awards 31 st Grammy Awards 41st Primetime Emmy Awards 42nd British Academy Film Awards 43rd Tony Awards 46th Golden Globe Awards List of submissions
  • The 81 st Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences AMPAS honored the best films of 2008 and took place on
  • The 41st British Film Awards given by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts in 1988, honoured the best in film for 1987. Jean de Florette Cry