ⓘ 48th Academy Awards


ⓘ 48th Academy Awards

The 48th Academy Awards were presented Monday, March 29, 1976, at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion in Los Angeles, California. The ceremonies were presided over by Walter Matthau, Robert Shaw, George Segal, Goldie Hawn and Gene Kelly. This year, ABC took over broadcast rights from NBC and continues to broadcast them today. The recent previous editions had been held on Tuesday night. as "Indiana, 86–68"; the undefeated Indiana Hoosiers had won the NCAA title that night in Philadelphia. The following year, the two events were again on the same night)

Milos Formans One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest made a "clean sweep" of the major categories: Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director and Best Screenplay Adapted. It was the second of three films to date to accomplish the sweep, following It Happened One Night in 1934 and preceding The Silence of the Lambs in 1991.

French actress Isabelle Adjani received her first nomination for Best Actress this year, making Adjani, 20 at the time, the youngest actress to be nominated in the leading actress category, breaking the record set by 22-year-old Elizabeth Hartman in 1965. This record would later be surpassed by 13-year-old Keisha Castle-Hughes in 2004, and again in 2013 by nine-year old Quvenzhane Wallis. Adjani also presented the Best Film Editing award that night along with Gould who delivered the Indiana joke during the presentation.

At age 80, George Burns became the oldest acting and Best Supporting Actor awardee as well as the final person to receive an acting award born in the nineteenth century, a record that stood until Jessica Tandy won Best Actress in 1989. For males, Burns was succeeded by Christopher Plummer, who won Best Supporting Actor in 2012 for Beginners at the age of 82.

Jaws was followed 25 years later by Traffic for a film that won all its nominations except Best Picture. As of the 91st Academy Awards, Amarcord, nominated for Best Director, is the last film to be nominated for Academy Awards in two separate years having won the award for Best Foreign Language Film the year before.


1. Winners and nominees

Winners are listed first, highlighted in boldface and indicated with a double dagger.

Special Achievement Award

  • Peter Berkos for sound effect work on The Hindenburg
  • Albert Whitlock and Glen Robinson for visual effect work on The Hindenburg