ⓘ Romanian Popular Party


ⓘ Romanian Popular Party

Romanian Popular Party, previously known as Liberal Reformist Party is a political party from Moldova. The party supportes the Unification of Romania and Moldova. On 27 August 2019, the party changed its name from Liberal Reformist Party to Romanian Popular Party and elected Vlad Țurcanu as its new president at the second Congress of the party.


1. Overview

Formed on 12 April 2013 as the Liberal Party Reform Council CRPL and a pro-government faction within the Liberal Party, calling for reform of the party. The first president of the party was Ion Hadarca from 2013 until 2019. Its seven MPs were subsequently ejected from the Liberal Party and agreed to enter a new coalition, called the Pro-European Coalition, with the Liberal Democratic Party of Moldova PLDM and the Democratic Party of Moldova PDM on 30 May 2013.

On 21 June 2013 at Costesti, Ialoveni took place General Meeting of the Liberal Party Reform Council, which adopted a decision to create a new political party with a liberal doctrine.

On 1 August 2013 in Chisinau took place the first meeting of the Council of Founding of the Liberal Reformist Party.

Its seven MPs were former Liberal Party deputy chairman Ion Hadarca, former Liberal Party secretary-general Oleg Bodrug, Ana Gutu, Anatol Arhire, Vadim Vacarciuc, Vadim Cojocaru and Valeriu Saharneanu. The party failed to gain representation at the 2014 parliamentary election.

Vlad Țurcanu has been the president of the party since 27 August 2019.