ⓘ 10th Filmfare Awards


ⓘ 10th Filmfare Awards

The 10th Filmfare Awards were held on 13 June 1963, honoring the best films in Hindi Cinema of the year 1962. Guru Dutts Sahib Bibi Aur Ghulam was the big winner of the night, winning 4 awards, including Best Film, Best Director and Best Actress awards. Bees Saal Baad also won 4 awards, but its wins were in the technical categories.

These awards marked the only occasion when all nominations for a Best Actor or Actress Award were for one actor, with Meena Kumari receiving all three nominations, and winning for Sahib Bibi Aur Ghulam, a record yet to be broken.


1. Best Lyrics

Bees Saal Baad – Shakeel Badayuni for Kahin Deep Jale, Kahin Dil

  • Professor – Hasrat Jaipuri for Aai Gulbadan
  • Anpadh – Raja Mehdi Ali Khan for Aap Ki Nazron Ne

2. Best Playback Singer

Bees Saal Baad – Lata Mangeshkar for Kahin Deep Jale, Kahin Dil

  • Anpadh – Lata Mangeshkar for Aap Ki Nazron Ne
  • Professor – Mohammad Rafi for Aai Gulbadan