ⓘ Wuthering Heights (1998 film)


ⓘ Wuthering Heights (1998 film)

Wuthering Heights is a 1998 British television film directed by David Skynner and starring Robert Cavanah, Orla Brady, and Sarah Smart. It was produced by Jo Wright. It is based on the 1847 novel Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. The novel was adapted for the screen by Neil McKay. The film was released by ITV on 5 April 1998 in the United Kingdom and released by WGBH-TV on 18 October 1998 in the United States.

The films tagline is Two hearts that beat as one.

Four years later, Smart would star in Sparkhouse, a gender-reversed BBC adaptation of Wuthering Heights in which Smart played the Heathcliff role renamed to Carol.


1. Cast

  • Catherine Cheshire as Frances Earnshaw
  • Tom Georgeson as Joseph
  • Flora Montgomery as Isabella Linton
  • Sarah Smart as Catherine Linton
  • Kadie Savage as young Cathy Earnshaw
  • Matthew Macfadyen as Hareton Earnshaw
  • Peter Davison as Joseph Lockwood
  • David Maybrick as Gaddick
  • Polly Hemingway as Nelly Dean
  • Ian Shaw as Hindley Earnshaw
  • Crispin Bonham-Carter as Edgar Linton
  • Robert Cavanah as Heathcliff
  • Ken Kitson as Mr. Earnshaw
  • Orla Brady as Cathy Earnshaw