ⓘ 2Mex


ⓘ 2Mex

Alejandro Ocana, better known by his stage name 2Mex, is a rapper from Los Angeles, California. He is a member of The Visionaries and Of Mexican Descent. He has collaborated with underground hip hop artists such as Jel, Omid, Thavius Beck, Factor, Radioinactive and Isaiah "Ikey" Owens. He is a member of the Project Blowed crew, and he is affiliated with Shape Shifters.


1. History

2Mex attended the Good Life Cafe open mic nights in 1993. Around that time, he founded Of Mexican Descent with Xololanxinxo.

In 1998, he released his first album with The Visionaries as well as the first Of Mexican Descent album, and he was featured on the OD Omid compilation album Beneath the Surface. In 1999, he was featured with Xololanxinxo as Of Mexican Descent on the Fat Jack compilation album Cater to the DJ, and he released his first solo album Fake It Till You Make It as The Mind Clouders with producer Mums the Word. In 2000, he was featured as a member of the Afterlife Crew on the Afterlife Records compilation Declaration of an Independent. He then released B-Boys in Occupied Mexico on Mean Street in 2001. Sweat Lodge Infinite was released on Temporary Whatever in 2003. The self-titled album, 2Mex, was released in 2004. He released My Fanbase Will Destroy You on Strange Famous Records in 2010. It features guest appearances from Murs, Prince Po, Busdriver and Nobody.


2. Film

2Mex is featured in Ava Duvernays award-winning documentary This Is the Life, chronicling the music movement that was birthed at The Good Life Cafe in South Central, Los Angeles. The Good Life Cafe is the open-mic workshop where he first performed with Of Mexican Descent in 1993.


3. Discography

Solo albums

  • 2Mex Paladin Creative Super Co., 2004
  • My Fanbase Will Destroy You Strange Famous, 2010
  • Sweat Lodge Infinite Temporary Whatever, 2003
  • Words. Knot Music. Memo / Afterlife, 2000
  • Over the Counter Culture Up Above, 2005 as SunGodSuns
  • Knowhawk Biofidelic / La2TheBay / Invisible Enemy, 2004
  • Gentrification EP 2018
  • Lospital Water the Plants, 2017
  • B-Boys in Occupied Mexico Mean Street, 2001

with Visionaries

  • Sophomore Jinx Up Above, 2000
  • Galleries Up Above, 1998
  • Pangaea Up Above, 2004
  • We Are the Ones Weve Been Waiting For Up Above, 2006

Other collaborations

  • Break Up Your Make Up 2009
  • Fake It Until You Make It 1999 with Mums the Word, as The Mind Clouders
  • Like Farther. Like Sun. 2013 with Maiselph
  • Money Symbol Martyrs 2006 with Life Rexall, as $martyr
  • Suffer in Style 2008 with Isaiah Owens, as Look Daggers
  • Blessing in Disguise 2010 with KeyKool & LMNO
  • Exitos y Mas Exitos 1998 with Xololanxinxo, as Of Mexican Descent
  • Fallin Angels 2011 with Nobody, as SunGodSuns

Guest appearances

  • Existereo - "Morals" from Dirty Deeds & Dead Flowers 2001
  • Dax, Neogen, Dert, Reconcile, Professor Who, Dokument, Chosen1, Griffin, Lazarus, Raphi, Drastic, Propaganda & Macho - "Remember This Day" from Underground Rise, Volume 1: Sunrise/Sunset 2003
  • Shape Shifters - "American Idle" from Was Here 2004
  • Neila - "Mercy Refused" from Better Late Than Never 2009
  • Factor - "Mental Illness" from Lawson Graham 2010
  • Subtitle - "Crew Cut for Sale" from Young Dangerous Heart 2005
  • Thavius Beck - "Dedicated to Difficulty" from Thru 2006
  • Prince Po - "Ask Me" from Prettyblack 2006
  • Ellay Khule - "Fading Rhythms" from Califormula 2006
  • Key-Kool & Rhettmatic - "Visionaries Stop Actin Scary" from Kozmonautz 1995
  • Awol One - "Gagbuster" from Self Titled 2004
  • Abstract Rude + Tribe Unique - "Frisbee" from P.A.I.N.T. 2001
  • Ceschi - "Same Old Love Song" 2009
  • Self Provoked - "Trophies" from 2015
  • Busdriver & Radioinactive with Daedelus - "Barely Music" from The Weather 2003
  • Radioinactive - "Mint Tea" from The Akashic Record 2013
  • The Gigantics - "Dont" from Die Already 2008
  • Expedyte feat Louis Logic, Phakt - "Sunny Daze" from Life 2008
  • Jel vs. 2Mex - "D.I.Y. Partisan" 2002
  • Busdriver - "Sphinxs Coonery" from Fear of a Black Tangent 2005
  • Omid - "Myth Behind the Man" from Monolith 2003
  • Mestizo - "Back Wash" from Dream State 2007
  • Abstract Rude & Tribe Unique - "Flow and Tell" from Showtyme 2003
  • Nobody - "Shades of Orange" from Soulmates 2000