ⓘ 54th Filmfare Awards


ⓘ 54th Filmfare Awards

The 54th Idea Filmfare Awards ceremony, presented by The Times Group and Idea Cellular, was one of Indias most prestigious awards ceremony, honoring the best Bollywood films of 2008. It took place on 28 February 2009 at the Yash Raj Studios, Mumbai. Actors Ranbir Kapoor and Imran Khan hosted the show for the first part, while actresses Konkona Sen Sharma and Deepika Padukone hosted the show in the latter part. It was the first time that any of these actors hosted the awards ceremony. The ceremony was televised in India eight days later, on 8 March 2009.

The nominees for the various films were announced on 16 February 2009. The films Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi and Rock On!! led the nominations with a total of ten nominations each, followed by Jodhaa Akbar with nine nominations. Ghajini and Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na had seven nominations each. The nominations are for the major awards only, as there were no list of nominees for the technical and other awards.

The major award-winning film turned out to be Jodhaa Akbar and Rock On!!, both of which won five Filmfare Awards each. The former won four under the main category, including the best film, best director and best actor awards, while the latter won one in the major category. It was Arjun Rampals first Filmfare award, as he won the Filmfare Award for Best Supporting Actor. Priyanka Chopra won her first Filmfare Best Actress Award in 2009 for her role in Fashion while Asin Thottumkal received her first Filmfare Award for Best Female Debut for her performance in Ghajini.


1. Multiple nominations and wins

Awards tally

– winner of the Filmfare Best Film Award, – nominees for Best Film

  • Note: In some cases, the number of nominations can be less than the number of awards won. This is explained by the fact that there are some awards which do not have any nominations. So, a film could have won an award which does not have any list of nominees. Also, Critics Awards are not included in the number of awards won by the films.