ⓘ Yakov Eliashberg


ⓘ Yakov Eliashberg

Yakov Eliashberg is an American mathematician who was born in Leningrad, USSR.

He received his Ph.D. from Leningrad University in 1972 under the direction of Vladimir Rokhlin. From 1972 to 1979 he taught at the Syktyvkar State University of Komi Republic of Russia and from 1980 to 1987 worked in industry as the head of a computer software group. In 1988 Eliashberg moved to the United States, and since 1989 he has been a professor of mathematics at Stanford University.


1. Awards

Eliashberg received the Leningrad Mathematical Society Prize in 1972. In 1986, 1998 and 2006 plenary lecture he was an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians. He delivered many invited series of lectures around the world. In 1995 Eliashberg was a recipient of the Guggenheim Fellowship.

In 2001 he was awarded the Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry from the AMS for his work in symplectic and contact topology. In particular for his proof of the symplectic rigidity and the development of 3-dimensional contact topology. In 2009 he received the Doctorat Honoris Causa from the ENS Lyon and in 2017 the Doctorat Honoris Causa from the University of Uppsala. In 2013 Eliashberg shared with Helmut Hofer the Heinz Hopf Prize from the ETH, Zurich, for their pioneering research in symplectic topology. In 2002 Eliashberg was elected to the National Academy of Sciences of the USA. In 2012 he became a fellow of the American Mathematical Society. He also was a member of the Selection Committee in mathematical sciences Shaw Prize.

In 2016 Yakov Eliashberg was awarded the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics from the Swedish Academy of Sciences for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena. In 2020 he received the Wolf Prize in Mathematics jointly with Simon K. Donaldson.

  • Gamarnik Yakov Cherevichenko Yakov Gakkel Yakov I. Perelman Yakov Eliashberg Yakov Permyakov Yakov Fedorenko Yakov Ehrlich Yakov Kazyansky Yakov Grot Yakov Eshpay
  • Stanford University in 2004 with a thesis written under the direction of Yakov Eliashberg and Ravi Vakil. Eric Katz 2005 - 07 - 15 Formalism for Relative Gromov - Witten
  • Embeddings in High Dimensional Contact Manifolds, was supervised by Yakov Eliashberg She was a C. L. E. Moore instructor and assistant professor at the
  • Clifford Taubes 1996 Richard S. Hamilton and Gang Tian 2001 Jeff Cheeger, Yakov Eliashberg and Michael J. Hopkins 2004 David Gabai 2007 Peter Kronheimer and Tomasz
  • Euclidean 3 - space. On the basis of their work in the 1980s Bennequin and Yakov Eliashberg might be considered the founders of contact topology. Bennequin also
  • in 1984 in Leningrad. His students include Viatcheslav Kharlamov, Yakov Eliashberg Mikhail Gromov, Nikolai V. Ivanov, Anatoly Vershik and Oleg Viro.
  • problem, fluid dynamics, and other areas. The theory was started by Yakov Eliashberg Mikhail Gromov and Anthony V. Phillips. It was based on earlier results
  • conjecture. He completed his Ph.D. in 2015, under the supervision of Yakov Eliashberg and continued at Stanford as an assistant professor. In 2015, he was
  • from the original on 18 January 2016. Retrieved 16 January 2016. Yakov Eliashberg awarded the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics Stanford University. Archived