ⓘ Slovenská televízia


ⓘ Slovenska televizia

Slovenska televizia or STV was a state-owned public television organization in Slovakia. It was created in 1991 as the Slovak part of the former Czechoslovak Television and was headquartered in Bratislava. It was funded from a combination of television licence fees, advertising, and government funding.

As a parliamentary response to increasing debt, on 1 January 2011, STV was merged with the state-owned public radio organization Slovensky rozhlas Slovak Radio to create Rozhlas a televizia Slovenska Radio and Television of Slovakia.

STV was a regular member of the European Broadcasting Union.


1. Television channels

STV operated three channels during its existence. They were named Jednotka One, Dvojka Two called STV1 and STV2 before a name change in 2004, and Trojka Three, a sports channel launched in 2008.

TA3 was a TV channel previously broadcast on the 3rd broadcasting circuit in the Slovak Republic from 6 July 1991 to 30 September 1992. The channel was created in order to replace the federal channel OK 3.

Trojka ceased broadcasting on 30 June 2011, while the other two channels continued to operate as a part of Rozhlas a televizia Slovenska. The three channels covered the entire territory of Slovakia

Broadcasting was on a 24-hour basis. Between 1987 and 1994, it was limited from 06:00 to 01:30.