ⓘ Coca-Cola Red Sparks


ⓘ Coca-Cola Red Sparks

The Coca-Cola Red Sparks are a Japanese company-owned rugby union team based in Fukuoka city, Kyūshū. The coach is currently Shogo Mukai, the former Japan national rugby union team coach during the 2003 Rugby Union World Cup.

The team was initially founded as Kitakyushu Coca-Cola and then changed its name to Coca-Cola West Japan.

The team won promotion to the expanded Top League of 14 teams at the end of the 2005–06 season, and was renamed Coca-Cola West Red Sparks. The club motto is "Have Guts Have Glory" and their slogan for 2006 season: "Always Attack & Aggressive". In the fourth Top League 2006–07 the team came 10th, with four wins, nine losses and 21 points. It therefore did not need to take part in any play-offs. Sanix, the local rivals, came ninth.

The team is now 2013 one of two teams from Kyūshū in the Top League. The other one is Kyuden Voltex. The team mascots name is Sparky.

In 2014, the team was renamed the Coca-Cola Red Sparks. They were relegated after the 2018/ 19 season.


1. Current squad

The Coca-Cola Red Sparks squad for the 2019–20 season is:


  • Benjamin Jones - Full Back
  • Glenn Paterson - Fly Half
  • Mark Ranby - Centre
  • Luke Andrews - No.8
  • George Leaupepe - Centre
  • Soushi Fuchigami - Fly Half
  • Nick Cummins - Wing
  • Sam Afro Wykes - Second row