ⓘ 5th César Awards


ⓘ 5th Cesar Awards

The 5th Cesar Awards ceremony, presented by the Academie des Arts et Techniques du Cinema, honoured the best French films of 1979 and took place on 2 February 1980 at the Salle Pleyel in Paris. The ceremony was chaired by Jean Marais and hosted by Pierre Tchernia and Peter Ustinov. Tess won the award for Best Film.


1. Winners and nominees

The winners are highlighted in bold:

  • Best Documentary Short: Petit Pierre, directed by Emmanuel Clot Georges Demeny, directed by Joel Farges Panoplie, directed by Philippe Gaucherand Le Sculpteur parfait, directed by Rafi Toumayan
  • Best Fiction Short: Colloque de chiens, directed by Raul Ruiz Nuit feline, directed by Gerard Marx Sibylle, directed by Robert Cappa
  • Best Supporting Actor: Jean Bouise, for Coup de tête Michel Aumont, for Courage - Lets Run Bernard Blier, for Serie noire Bernard Giraudeau, for Le Toubib
  • Best Animated Short: Demain la petite fille sera en retard à lecole, directed by Michel Boschet Barbe bleue, directed by Olivier Gillon Les Troubles fêtes, directed by Bernard Palacios
  • Best Director: Roman Polanski, for Tess Costa Gavras, for Womanlight Joseph Losey, for Don Giovanni Jacques Doillon, for La Drolesse
  • Best Production Design: Alexandre Trauner, for Don Giovanni Theobald Meurisse, for Buffet froid Jacques Saulnier, for I. comme Icare Pierre Guffroy, for Tess
  • Best Sound: Pierre Gamet, for Womanlight Alain Lachassagne, for Martin et Lea Jean-Pierre Ruh, for Perceval le Gallois Pierre Lenoir, for Retour à la bien-aimee
  • Best Writing: Bertrand Blier, for Buffet froid Jacques Doillon, for La Drolesse Henri Verneuil, Didier Decoin, for I. comme Icare Alain Corneau, Georges Perec, for Serie noire
  • Best Actor: Claude Brasseur, for The Police War Jean Rochefort, for Courage - Lets Run Yves Montand, for I. comme Icare Patrick Dewaere, for Serie noire
  • Best Film: Tess, directed by Roman Polanski Womanlight directed by Costa Gavras Don Giovanni, directed by Joseph Losey I. comme Icare, directed by Henri Verneuil
  • Best Actress: Miou-Miou, for La Derobade Romy Schneider, for Womanlight Dominique Laffin, for The Crying Woman Nastassja Kinski, for Tess
  • Best Foreign Film: Manhattan, directed by Woody Allen Apocalypse Now, directed by Francis Ford Coppola Die Blechtrommel, directed by Volker Schlondorff Hair, directed by Milos Forman
  • Best Cinematography: Ghislain Cloquet, for Tess Jean Penzer, for Buffet froid Nestor Almendros, for Perceval le Gallois Bruno Nuytten, for Les Soeurs Bronte
  • Best Supporting Actress: Nicole Garcia, for Le Cavaleur Dominique Lavanant, for Courage - Lets Run Maria Schneider, for La Derobade Myriam Boyer, for Serie noire
  • Best Editing: Reginald Beck, for Don Giovanni Claudine Merlin, for Buffet froid Henri Lanoe, for Le Cavaleur Claudine Merlin, for Les Soeurs Bronte Thierry Derocles, for Serie noire
  • Honorary Cesar: Pierre Braunberger Louis de Funes Kirk Douglas
  • Best Music: Georges Delerue, for LAmour en fuite Vladimir Cosma, for La Derobade Ennio Morricone, for I. comme Icare Philippe Sarde, for Tess