ⓘ History of Hampshire


ⓘ History of Hampshire

Hampshire is a county in Southern England with some notable archaeology and many notable historic buildings.

In the downland chalk hills of the South downs and the southern part of Salisbury plain has been inhabited since the Neolithic, and these settlers built hill FORTS such as Winklebury and possibly grown in the valleys of Hampshire. Hampshire was part of the ancient British Kingdom of the Celts under the name of Gwent not to be confused with a County in Wales or M go, that also deal with issues that later will belong to the Somerset and Wiltshire). In the Roman invasion of Britain, Hampshire was one of the first areas to fall to the invading forces.

During the Anglo-Saxon settlement, the modern Hampshire and the Isle of Wight were occupied by Jutish tribes – people initially separately from the Saxons and the angles. Utah founded the Kingdom known as Wihtwara white, Meonwara the Meon Valley and in the district of Ytene, as in the later site of the New Forest. Street Woes, however, Utah was captured by the surrounding Saxon kingdoms during the 7th century. Hamtunscīr after Hamtun, the original name for Southampton was one of the first Saxon Shires should be recorded in 755.

For two centuries, Hampshire represented the Western border of Saxon England, as the British fought with the advances in Dorset and Somerset. After the Saxons advanced West Hampshire became the centre of the Kingdom of Wessex, and many Saxon kings are buried at Winchester. A statue in Winchester celebrates the powerful king Alfred, who stabilized the region in the 9th century.

After the Norman conquest the district was approved by the Norman kings who established the new forest as a hunting forest. The County was recorded in the "Domesday Book" is divided into 44 hundreds. Later, these boil down to 37. It was Alton, Andover, Barmanstip, Barton Stacey, Basingstoke, Bedbridge, Bondsborough, Bosmere, Buddlesgate, Christchurch, Chutely, is Inn, East Meon, Evinger, Foley, Finchdean, in Fordingbridge, Russia, help, Holdsett, Kings Somborne, work, Mansbridge, Meanstoke, Micheldever, new forest, to Enjoy, Overton, Pastrow, Portsdown, Ringwood, Shelbourn, Sutton, Thorngate, Titchfield, Waltham, and Wherwell.

Was built along the coast of the Solent to protect the harbours at Southampton and Portsmouth for several centuries a series of castles and FORTS. These include the Norman portchester castle the view of Portsmouth harbour, and a series of FORTS built by Henry VIII including Hurst castle, situated on a sand spit in the estuary of the Solent, Calshot castle on another spit at the mouth of Southampton water, and Netley castle. Southampton and Portsmouth remained important harbours, when competitors such as Poole and Bristol rejected because they are one of the few locations that combine shelter with deep water. Southampton has hosted many famous ships, including the Mayflower and the Titanic, which with a crew of mainly Hampshire.

Hampshire played a large role in the Second world war due to its large Royal Navy harbour at Portsmouth, the military camp at Aldershot and the military Netley hospital on Southampton water, as well as its proximity to the army training ranges on Salisbury plain and the Isle of Purbeck. Supermarine, the designers of the Spitfire and other military aircraft, were based in Southampton, which led to severe bombing of the city. Aldershot remains one of the British Armys main permanent camps.

The County has in the past been called "Southamptonshire" and appears on some Victorian maps. The name of the administrative County was changed from County of Southampton, in the County of Hampshire on 1 April 1959. Short form of the name, often used in postal addresses, is Hants.

The old name is mentioned as the landing place of many immigrants into Ellis island. This is recorded in the act of governments of the Commonwealth, 1653, which was adopted by Oliver Cromwell, when he assumed the position of Lord protector in 1654.

The Isle of Wight has been for some purposes in the past have traditionally been viewed within Hampshire, but was separate from Hampshire for over a century, get your own County Council in 1890. The Isle of Wight became a full ceremonial County in 1974. The island is excluded from the hundreds of the above – it was traditionally divided into East and West Medina hundred. In addition to the General police has now no formal administrative links between the Isle of Wight and Hampshire.

The towns of Bournemouth and Christchurch also fall within the historic County of Hampshire, but were transferred to Dorset in the local government reorganization of 1974.